RSS

Tips and Tricks #4: Colour Match

03 Jun

One of the many tools in HM’s STUDIO is adding colour to your page with coloured borders, coloured text and the colour fill effect. However, I am often frustrated because I can’t find the exact colour I want in the STUDIO tools colour palette, especially when I really want to match with something else on my page. Well, that is I used to get frustrated until I learned about colour match. It’s AMAZING and so simple.

Whenever you are selecting a colour you cursor turns into an eye dropper. At this point you can choose any item anywhere on your page and the colour match tool will match the colour exactly. Cool, right?? I agree!! Here’s an example of when I used this exact features:

 When creating a grade 8 yearbook for my school i wanted to match the colour of the border on the right hand side to the colour of the students sashes in their grade photos (unfortunately you can’t see them as they have been blurred to keep idenitities secret). However, all I did was go to my toolbox, use the fill effect and select the blue on sashes with the eye dropper. I used this same technique for the border colour around the lettering only I chose a slightly lighter shade.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 3, 2012 in My stories

 

What are your thoughts?

 
